Hmm…

Well my blogging didn’t last long did it?

Now I am full of ideas i want to write about but short on time and energy what with being a single mum and it being school holiday time.

For one thing i want to write about the work of Adrienne Rich on compulsory heterosexuality and the lesbian continuum and thank her for making me realise something essential about my own life and allowing me to link it to the lives of other women who lived before my time. I want to write about being single and 36 and having no intention of ever getting married. I want to write about how that is perceived in a heteronormativity obsessed society, about who it threatens and how they retaliate.

Lots really. But so little time or energy.

So for now i’m just going to share my poem:

In Memory of Adrienne Rich:

I am One
of a very long line
of Women
who got Out.

I am not alone
but the latest in the line
Separated
merely by time.

I have no peers-
strange but true.
One by one they have fallen
but I have always slipped through.

The butterfly collectors
failed
my wings will be
pin Free

this uncolonised land
is little known
a Quiet Resistance
expects no applause-
only to survive,
intact
and call itSelf
Home.

I am One
of a very long line,
of Women
who got Out.

Hopefully there will more to come soon. Thanks to those who read and please say hello.

This entry was posted in feminism, politics, single mother, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

